Do You Need to be Techy to Blog?

By the word “techy” I mean understand terms such as HTML, CSS, CMS, SEO, SEM, etc. (Please, don’t panic! They’re not that hard to learn about.)

So, do you need to be techy?
I think it honestly depends on how far you want to go and how much money you have. If you want to have a full time career blogging then I think you should at least understand the terms – even if you couldn’t edit CSS to save your life, if you know what it is then you’re good. Let’s look at what you can do:

Learn everything yourself and do everything yourself. This is the option I’ve chosen as I have very little spare cash available plus I studied coding (specifically for game building) on a short course when I was still at school – after learning one language I found the rest relatively simple to pick up – and when I get stuck Google is a great resource.

Outsource everything. You can pay other folks to do everything for you. There are some great places to outsource things – you can buy custom blog themes from lots of places, get avatars made at fiverr.com and so on.

Not care. I would advise this only if you’re not a “serious blogger” meaning you don’t mind if you aren’t particularly successful, or don’t (want to) make a lot of money, or actually don’t care. Of course, you can always take this route at the beginning while you’re getting yourself started and then learn/outsource later.

So, are you techy? Would you like to be?

Have something to say? Leave a comment!

